Yes Outside Only
Pet Friendly Inside Welcome
On the shores of the estuary, in a location steeped in history, rests this classic Kiwi bach. Packed with charm and boasting views that are hard to beat; this is The Old Bakery!
From the moment you arrive at this Collingwood holiday home, you’ll feel welcome. In fact, it’s written in mosaic right there on the driveway! Park the car, there’s even space to park the boat, and settle right in for your Golden Bay getaway.
A gorgeous sitting room is decorated with a nod to the history of the home. Open up the doors and windows and let the breeze flow through as you settle in with a coffee and a good book. Or, on a mid-year getaway, light the wood burning fireplace, and settle in for a night in front of the tele.
Next door, a dine-in kitchen awaits, ready for you to prepare and share delicious holiday meals. On a warm summer evening, why not whip up a few sides, fire up the BBQ, and grill the fresh catch of the day against a breathtaking backdrop.
Three bedrooms here at The Old Bakery comfortably offer up to seven guests a place to rest their head and recharge the batteries. For the littlest family members, there’s even a port-a-cot and high chair available.
The large deck at the rear of The Old Bakery is a great place to while away the hours staring out at the water. Steps lead down to a lovely flat grassy area, ideal for a picnic or an afternoon match of backyard cricket! Launch the provided kayaks and paddle the blue waters of the estuary for a bit of relaxing exercise.
History buffs will love the old bakers oven in the backyard here at The Old Bakery. Visit the local museum, just a one minute walk from home, and learn all about the multiple fires that ravaged the small town in the late 1800s and early 1900s.
Being in the centre of town here at The Old Bakery, everything Collingwood has to offer really is on your doorstep! The Collingwood Tavern is next door for a meal out, the General Store is across the road, and cafes for your flat white fix are just a few doors down.
Why not visit Farewell Spit while you're here. Catch the bus one minute from your door, or choose a guided option from Farewell Spit Eco Tours, they're across the road!
History comes to life on your next Golden Bay getaway, here at The Old Bakery in Collingwood!
- Bedroom 1 (Level 1): 1 Queen Size Bed, 1 Single Bed
- Bedroom 2 (Level 1): 2 Single Bed
- Bedroom 3 (Level 1): 1 Bunk Bed
- Bathroom 1 (Level 1): 1 Basin, 1 Shower, 1 Toilet
Yes Inside. Pets can come too! A small pet friendly fee of $20 + GST for up to two pets will apply.
Linen available at additional charge
Available at this property for $25 per person. You’ll see the option for our linen service in the ‘Add-Ons’ section during your booking.
This property is at the rear of a shop and a hair salon.
As the property has unfenced access to the estuary, adults should closely supervise young children while outside to ensure they are safe around water.
As the deck has no barrier and a small drop on to grass and shells, all guests should take care when using this area due to the risk of falls.
There are life-jackets available to use with the kayak(s) but we do recommend that guests bring their own well-fitting life-jackets to ensure safety.
- Driveway (private)
- Fenced (fully)
- Fireplace (closed / pot belly)
- Hair dryer
- Heat pump
- Ironing board
- Mobile cellphone Reception
- Parking (off-street)
- Parking (on-street)
- Washing machine
Guest reviews for The Old BakeryWe encourage reviews. Our review policy.
JudeenStayed April 2021
Location and setting is perfect for exploring westhaven and the spit. Great accommodation for both summer and winter, price point is affordable and having the camping ground two doors down allows for addition family to be present. Would recommend
LindsayStayed February 2021
The property is lovely and private with beautiful views of the water. Night sky and sunsets are stunning. The property has plenty of room and is clean to a good standard.
ashtiStayed January 2021
Not worth money and not clean. Was there with infant n carpets were so dirty. Also the beds are not comfortable they r old spring beds. View was amazing.
Thank you for your review Ashti, and we're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with your stay. We are rectifying any issues with the cleaning to ensure the property is up to standard and the owners have taken action on the beds, adding a thick mattress topper for more comfort. We're glad you enjoyed the amazing views and hope you had a nice time in Nelson!
BrookeStayed January 2021
Great for a family that loves fishing and kayaking! It's very calm and relaxing. Would def come back :) Thank you for looking after us.