Queen's Birthday weekend is in high demand.

Mohua - Pakawau Holiday Home

Collingwood Puponga Main Road, Pakawau, Golden Bay

View map
View map
  • 7 People
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Yes Outside Only
  • Wifi
  • Pet Friendly Inside Welcome


Mohua is a 3 bedroom beachfront Pakawau holiday home. Situated in an ideal location for a relaxing beach break, this family friendly home is just the spot for your next Golden Bay getaway!

The cosy living space at this Pakawau holiday home is open plan and enjoys stunning views of the ocean. Spend your days at the beach, just a stone’s throw away, or during winter stays keep toasty by the fire.... The Sonos sound system is a welcome addition for days indoors, or simply relax on the patio, fire up the BBQ and watch as boats sail by.

Stay on-site and enjoy endless hours in the sun and sand or set out on an adventure, Wharariki Beach is less than 30 minutes drive. Go hiking through Abel Tasman National Park, just an hour drive along the coastline.

For a South Island beach escape... Mohua has you covered!

*Please note that there is an outdoor bath available for guest use.

**WIFI is available but the reception is unreliable due to the location of the property.

Read more

Bedroom Configuration

  • Bedroom (Level 1): 1 King Size Bed
  • Bedroom (Level 1): 1 Queen Size Bed
  • Bedroom 3 (Level 2): 1 Single Bed, 1 Double Bed

Bathroom Configuration

  • Bathroom 1 (Level 1): 1 Basin, 1 Shower, 1 Toilet
  • Bathroom 2 (Level 1): 1 Basin, 1 Shower, 1 Toilet

Pet Friendly

Yes Inside.
Pets can come too! A small pet friendly fee of $20 + GST for up to two pets will apply.

Linen available at additional charge

Available at this property for $25 per person. You’ll see the option for our linen service in the ‘Add-Ons’ section during your booking.

Special Conditions

Bedroom 3 is a loft above the lounge area accessed via a ladder from the living area. It is not recommended for use by children under 5 years old. It has restricted headspace. The beds are mattresses on a box base.
The property can accommodate a maximum of 6 adults as a single bed in the loft area has very low headroom.

As the property has unfenced access to the beach, adults should closely supervise young children while outside to ensure they are safe around water.

WIFI is available but the reception is unreliable due to the location of the property.


  • Air conditioning
  • BBQ
  • Beachfront
  • Dishwasher
  • Driveway (private)
  • Dryer
  • Family Friendly
  • Fenced (fully)
  • Fireplace (closed / pot belly)
  • Freeview
  • Freezer
  • Fridge
  • Hair dryer
  • Heat pump
  • Iron
  • Ironing board
  • Microwave
  • Mobile cellphone Reception
  • Oven
  • Parking (off-street)
  • Toaster
  • TV
  • Washing machine
  • WIFI
  • Wood supplies
Show more

Guest reviews for Mohua

We encourage reviews. Our review policy.
Stayed January 2022

Great property in a lovely spot by the sea. Close to lots of great places to see; Wharariki beach, Salisbury falls, farewell spit. Very comfortable home.

Stayed December 2021

A really comfortable holiday home on a sea front site. The property is well equipped and very homely. We caught fish surf casting on beach, a general store next door is very handy. Highly recommend for a peaceful relaxing break.

Stayed December 2021

Great house with big spaces, all amenities catered for. Private yard with direct stair access to beach. Would stay again.

Stayed November 2021

This is an ideal bach for a family or couples with kids.It's a big house with excellent facilities and spaces to chill.lots of space to park cars and boat. The beach is gorgeous.Plenty of people fishing with kontikis and small boats.Apparently you can catch kingfish on fly rods .locals and other visitors are very friendly. Pakawau is a handy base for all the various scenic trips.

Stayed September 2021

Lovely property would stay again but will not risk loosing money if there are further lockdowns as Bachcare do not refund

Bachcare replied

Thank you for your review, Ruth! We're sorry to hear there is a misunderstanding around our policy. We can see you were travelling between two locations that were under Alert Level 2 at the time, permitting travel for recreation purposes, so no refund or credit would in that case apply. ​Hopefully this helps clarify! We're glad you were able to travel and that you enjoyed your stay.

Stayed June 2021

Beautiful place! Everything was made sp easy by Bachcare. Thankyou

Stayed February 2021

Fantastic location, well laid out and comfort bach with direct beach access

Stayed November 2020

A great spot. We really loved it. House was just like how we wanted. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2020

What an amazingly spotless clean and gorgeous home! The plan and open living design provide you with heavenly views lots of light and warmth! All amenities, facilities, linen and provisions are 100% to high standards! The outside area flowing into the immediate access to the beach just tops it off to bring the most idyllic surroundings. Paradise for sure! Georgina the ma Agee is the most amazing person to deal with. Instant replies and so easy to contact! Most memorable stay and I would definitely recommend and return! ☀️🌟

Stayed June 2020

Blissful spot and great whare! Enjoyed every second, dined on cockles we collected ourselves, visited the resident seal, had a great meal at the pub across the road - we'll be back!!

Stayed February 2020

Great house right on the beach, swimming especially good at high tide. House was very comfortable with everything thought of, even a bottle of wine provided by owners on arrival - nice touch. House managers were excellent, we will be back and certainly recommend to others. Thanks, Debbie & Trevor

Stayed December 2019

Everything is fine, we are very satisfied

Stayed October 2019

The location is amazing, right on the beach. As a keen photographer, I watched two stunning sunrises. In October, the sun rises from the ocean directly in front of the house. Everything possible is provided in the way of kitchen equipment. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms excellent. I can wholeheartedly recommend this house for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed October 2019

Super relaxing time at this very well set up house. Right on the beach, outdoor bath, everything was thought of. Didn’t want to leave !!

Stayed July 2019

What an absolutely beautiful place to stay , with the Bay right at your back door . The house is beautifully laid out , with heaps of space , large rooms , super comfy beds , kitchen is well stocked with everything you need to cook all your meals .We were looking for a dog friendly house & couldn`t believe our luck when we came across this house , as the beach is what every dog loves .Helen was there to greet us on arrival & to show us around the property , she is a lovely friendly lady , who made us feel very welcome , and then came to farewell us on departure . If you are thinking about coming to stay in this house , please don`t hesitate any longer , you will not be disappointed .

Stayed February 2019

We loved this house! We were literally steps away from the beautiful beach. We had a wonderful view from inside, and there was a very nice outdoor sofa as well. Loved taking a dip, and went for a long walk on the mostly deserted beach. The inside was excellent as well, with new kitchen appliances and everything you'd need to cook in. There's a washer/dryer which is big help at the beach. Beds were super comfortable, bathrooms were great, and the design of the home and little touches gave it a combination of cool and warmth. My daughter loved hanging out in the little loft area. There's a restaurant across the street that came in handy, and it's a short drive to Collingwood. So all in all, a great base for either exploring Golden Bay, or chilling with a good bottle of something.

Stayed February 2019

We loved our stay at Mohua, Pakawau. Very relaxing. We chose to stay at the house mostly and have a lazy time. We had stocked up with provisions in Takaha so we did not need to leave the house. There is lots to do and see if you want to but we had done most of the sightseeing on previous visits to Golden Bay. Swimming everyday at high tide became a ritual. The Apple TV was a problem for us (couldn't work out how to use it even with instructions) so we did not use it. Instead we listened to the Concert Programme and did lots of reading. There is poor radio reception in this area but we used the App on our tablet to give us background music and the news. The king bed in the main bedroom gave an excellent sleep. The water tank was low as it had been a dry summer but that was not a problem for us as we know the drill on these occasions. We did get up early once for the 6am summer sunrise; well worth it. I went back to bed again and slept until 10.30 am. That lovely bed was to blame!

Stayed December 2018

The house was nice and cozy. It had a great view to the sea and we really enjoyed the easy access to the beach. However we did not have a good experience with the manager Helen. She really lacked communication and made this otherwise wonderful stay a bit of inconvenience.

Bachcare replied

Hi Azy, we're sorry to hear that you didn't have the best time with your local Holiday Manager, and we hope that we have the chance to make this up to you in the future. Wonderful to hear you loved the access to the beach - we think that's fantastic too!

Stayed October 2018

Fantastic stay and will be coming back soon. Thank you.

Where do you want to go?